Posted by Richard Mewhinney, Chair District 7070 Areas of Focus Action Committee

Congratulations to all the District 7070 Rotarians and Rotaracters for a tremendous year of Community and International Service!   While there is still work ahead of us, as we continue to meet the challenges of the pandemic, we can all hold our heads high in our response to our Communities needs to meet the challenges of the Covid-19 pandemic.  With over 40 District Grant applications from our District 7070 Rotary and Rotaract Clubs we have doubled the amount of District Grants from previous years........

For the 2020-2021 Rotary Year, the Action & Partnership Committees will be Chaired by Richard Mewhinney with contacts noted below.  The Area of Focus Coordinators are as follows:

  • Peace and conflict prevention/resolution.


  • Disease prevention and treatment.


  • Water and sanitation.

    • Richard Mewhinney (Coordinator/Chair), Newmarket Rotary Club

    • Email: Phone: (416) 418-6646



  • Basic education and literacy.


  • Economic and community development.


  • Environment Action (NEW Committee) Chair

    • Nilam Bedi, Rotary Club of Toronto Eglinton:

    • Email: Phone: (416) 629-8907






We ask that you help our Area of Focus Coordinators with four items:

  1. Each Area of Focus Coordinator has formed a committee. If you would like to serve on the Committee, please contact the Coordinator at their email or phone as noted above to participate.

  2. If you have a project completed or ongoing in one of the Areas of Focus, please contact the Coordinator to advise of any help you may need or just let us know that all is well!

  3. If you are looking to participate in a project in any one of the Areas of Focus, please contact the Coordinator to get connected to a project(s) in the works!

  4. If you receive a project request from outside the District, please advise myself or one of the Area of Focus Coordinators so that we can add it to our list of potential project ideas.

I thank you for your Service Project Volunteerism and support of our Area of Focus Action Committee Coordinators.

Richard Mewhinney

2020-21 District 7070 Chair, Areas of Focus Action Committees